The U.S. Naval Academy is the undergraduate college of our nation’s naval service, preparing young men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps. Students attend the Academy for four years, graduating with Bachelor of Science degrees and then serve at least five years in the Navy or Marine Corps. The Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland is a scenic campus with beautiful architecture and landscaping. Visitors are welcome during daytime hours to take a guided tour, attend special events, explore the Visitor Center and the Naval Academy Museum and dine at the onsite restaurants.
Enjoy the following photos of and get a glimpse of the U.S. Naval Academy.
Major General John A. Lejeune, Class of 1888, was an Army division commander in World War I and Commandment, U.S. Marine Corps through the 1920s. The Lejeune Physical Education Center is named in his memory. A bronze statue of Lejeune is located in front of the building.
Swimming Pool in Lejeune Hall
The Lejeune Physical Education Center, built in 1982, houses an Olympic-size swimming pool and diving tower, a mat room for wrestling and hand-to-hand martial arts, and the Athletic Hall of Fame.
Naval Academy football players Joe Bellino and Roger Staubach won the Heisman Trophies that are on display in the Lejeune Physical Education Center on the Annapolis campus.
Bill the Goat is the mascot of the U.S. Naval Academy Football Team. The mascot is a live goat. This bronze statue of the goat stands near Gate 1, the main gate to the Academy grounds.
Senior Officer Housing
The homes on Porter Road are for senior Navy and Marine Corps staff officers during their tour of duty at the Naval Academy. The street is commonly known as Captains Row. The naval officers living here hold the rank of captain; Marines must be full colonels. They are department heads whose tours are from two to four years. The homes of the Commandant of Midshipmen, the Academic Dean, and the Athletic Director are also located on Porter Road.
Centennial of the U.S. Navy Submarine Force
This memorial was dedicated in honor of the Centennial of the U.S. Navy Submarine Force at the Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD. If you look closely, you will see the dolphins and the heads of a few Marines.
Dahlgren Hall, formerly the Armory, is named for Rear Admiral John A. Dahlgren, a Civil War leader and inventor of naval guns. It is the site of midshipmen special events and houses the Drydock Restaurant, a dining facility that is open to the general public.
Bancroft Hall, the U.S. Naval Academy dormitory, houses the more than 4,400 midshipmen and contains 1700 rooms, 5 miles of corridors and about 33 acres of floor space. The building is named for George Bancroft, founder of the U.S. Navy Academy.
Don't Give Up the Ship
The famous Navy saying "Don't Give Up the Ship" has inspired generations of sailors. The motto of perseverance dates back to the final encouragement to the crew of the USS Chesapeake by the dying Captain James Lawrence during the War of 1812. This banner hangs near the entrance to Bancroft Hall and serves as a memorial to U.S. Naval Academy alumni who have died while serving our nation.
Memorial Hall is a gorgeous ballroom that used as event space for the midshipmen at the U.S. Naval Academy.
The Commander-in-Chief's Trophy resides in the Rotunda of Bancroft Hall at the U.S. Naval Academy. The trophy is awarded to each season's winner of the American college football triangular series among the teams of the United States Military Academy (Army Black Knights), the United States Naval Academy (Navy Midshipmen), and the United States Air Force Academy (Air Force Falcons).
A statue of the Indian warrior Tecumseh stands at the site of the noon formations for the midshipmen at the U.S. Naval Academy.
Bell ringing is a tradition at the Naval Academy. This bell, located in front of Bancroft Hall, is a copy of the original bell which was brought back to the United States by Commodore Matthew Perry following his mission to Japan in 1855. The bell is rung in a semi-annual ceremony for each victory that the Navy has over the Army during its football games.
The USNA Chapel is a spectacular architectural structure set in the center of the Yard. Catholic and Protestant services are conducted here and are open to the public. The Chapel is open 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday through Saturday and noon-4 p.m. on Sundays.
The Naval Academy Museum houses the famous Gallery of Ships and more than 50,000 naval artifacts. The museum features two floors of exhibits about the history of sea power and the history of the U.S. Navy.
Address: Preble Hall, 118 Maryland Ave
Hours: Tuesday-Saturday, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m., Sundays, 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. Closed Mondays.