The Tour de France 2016

Once again, the world’s greatest cycling race, the Tour de France, takes place in July. Founded in 1903 by Henri Desgrange, the editor of L'Auto newspaper, it’s the third biggest sporting event in the world after the Olympic Games and the FiFa World Cup.

The Tour de France attracts over 12 million spectators in a typical year's race and 3.5 million TV viewers on a typical day's coverage in 190 countries.

01 of 04

The 2016 Tour de France Information

Chris Froome wins Tour de France
Getty Images/Michael Steele

The 2016 Tour de France

The 2016 Tour de France runs from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th, 2016. It’s the 103rd race and will be as gruelling, as exciting and as dramatic as ever. As always it includes a range of skills, but the most exciting is always the climbs in the Alps.

The Stages

The Tour is made up of 21 stages and covers a total distance of 3,360 kms (2,987 miles).

  • 9 flat stages
  • hill stages
  • 9 mountain stages including 4 summit finishes (Andorre Arcalis, Mont Ventoux, Finhaut-Emosson et Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc)
  • 2 individual time trial stages
  • 2 rest days

The Route

This year the Grand Départ starts from Mont-St-Michel and ends that day at Utah Beach. The race also takes in Spain, Andorra and Switzerland. 

For all the stages of the route, see page 4.

Continue to 2 of 4 below.
02 of 04

Tour de France 2016 Teams and Riders

Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

The Teams

The teams have been chosen by the organizers, with nine riders in each team. There are 22 Teams, with 3 teams from the USA, 2 from Belgium and German. France has 5 teams.  All the other countries are fielding one team: Great Britain; Australia; Italy; Kazakhstan; Netherlands; Russia; South Africa, Spain, Switzerland.

AG2R La Mondiale (France)
Team leader: Romain Bardet (France)

Astana (Kazakhstan)
Team leader: Fabio Aru (Italy)

Team leader: Tejay van Garderen (USA)

Bora-Argon 18 (Germany)
Team leader: Sam Bennett (Ireland)

Cannondale (USA)
Teamleader: Andrew Talansky

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (France)
Team leader: Nacer Bouhanni (France)

Dimension Data (South Africa)
Team leader: Mark Cavendish (UK)

Direct Energie (France)
Team leader: Thomas Voekler (France)

Etixx – Quick Step (Belgium)
Team leader: Marcel Kittel (Germany)

FDJ (France)
Team leader: Thibaut Pinot (France)

Fortuneo-Vital Concept  (France)
Team leader: Pierrick Fédrigo (France)

Giant – Alpecin (German)
Team leader: John Degenkolb

IAM (Switzerland)
Team leader: Jérome Coppel

Lampre–Merida (Italy)
Team leader: Louis Meintjes (South Africa)

LottoNL-Jumbo (Netherlands)
Team leader: Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands)

Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
Team leader: Andre Greipel (Germany)

Movistar (Spain)
Teamleader: Nairo Quintana (Columbia)

Orica GreenEdge (Australia)
Team leader: Michael Matthews

Sky (UK)
Team leader: Chris Froome (UK)

Tinkoff (Russia)
Team leader: Alberto Contador (Spain)

Trek-Segafredo (USA)
Team leader: Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland)

Continue to 3 of 4 below.
03 of 04

Tour de France 2016, The Jerseys, Prize Money and Past Winners

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

What the Jerseys Mean and Prize Money

A total of around 2.2 million Euros will be awarded and given out to the teams and the riders.

Individual Prizes

The Yellow Jersey = the general individual time classification winner; prize money 450,000 euros for the outright winner; 1 million euros in total
The Green Jersey = the general points classification winner; prize money 25,000 euros for the outright winner; 125,000 euros in total
The Red Polka Dot Jersey = the best climber classification winner; prize money 25,000 euros for the outright winner; 107,000 euros in total
The White Jersey = the best young rider classification winner (for riders who are no more than 25 years old in the year of the race); prize money 20,000 euros for the outright winner, 65,000 euros in total
The Red and White Stripe Jersey = the most aggressive rider which is awarded at the end of each stage by a jury of eight cycling specialists.

Team Prizes

There’s also a prize for the team classification which is calculated by adding the times of the bet 3 riders of each team in each stage (except for the team time-trial).

The Yellow and White Jersey = the team winning overall; prize money 50,000 euros
The outright winner is chosen after the last stage of the tour.

Past Winners

The 2015 tour was won by Chris Froome; the 2014 tour was won by Italian Vincenzo Nibali for Astana; 2013 it was Chris Froome (GB) and the 2012 Tour was won by Sir Bradley Wiggins (GB)

Four riders have managed to win the Tour five times:
Jacques Anquetil of France (1957, 1961, 1962, 1963 and 1964)
Eddy Merckx of Belgium (1969, 1970, 1971, 1972 and 1974)
Bernard Hinault of France (1978, 1979, 1981, 1982 and 1985)
Miguel Induráin of Spain (1991, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1995)

Three riders have won three times:
Philippe Thys (Belgium) 1913, 1914, 1920
Louison Bobet (France), 1953, 1054, 1955
Greg Lemond (USA) 1986, 1989, 1990

Continue to 4 of 4 below.
04 of 04

Tour de France - The Route in Detail

Tour de France map 2016

This year, the route includes a lot of new cities and also new destinations that are top cultural destinations.

Week 1:

Saturday July 2: Mont St-Michel to Utah Beach Sainte-Marie du Mont (new) - 188kms

Sunday July 3: St Lô (new) to Cherbourg, Cotentin - 183 kms

Monday July 4: Granville to Angers, Loire Valley - 223.5 kms

Tuesday July 5: Saumur to Limoges - 237.5 kms

Wednesday July 6: Limoges to Le Lioran - 216 kms

Thursday July 7: Arpajon-sur-Cère (new) to Montauban - 190.5 kms

Friday July 8: L'Isle Jourdan (new) to Lac de Payolle (new) - 162.5 kms

Saturday July 9: Pau to Bagnères-de-Luchon - 184 kms

Sunday July 10: Vielha Val d'Aran (new) to Andorre Arcalis in Andorra - 184 kms

Monday July 11: Rest day in Andorra

Week 2: 

Tuesday July 12: Escaldes-Engordany (new) to Revel - 197 kms

Wednesday July 13: Carcassone to Montpellier - 184 kms

​Thursday July 14: Montpellier to Mont Ventoux - 184 kms

Friday July 15: Bourg-Saint-Andeol (new) to Caverne Pont d'Arc (new) - 37.5 kms

Saturday July 16: Montelimar to Villars-les-Dombes Parc des Oiseaux (new) - 208.5 kms

Sunday July 17: Bourg-en-Bresse to Culoz  (new) - 160 kms

Monday July 18: Moirans-en-Montagne to Berne, Switzerland -(new) 209 kms

Tuesday July 19: Rest day in Berne

Final week:

Wednesday July 20: Berne to Finhaut-Emossson, Switzerland (new) - 184.5 kms

Thursday July 21: Sallanches to Mègeve (new) - 17 kms

Friday July 22: Albertville to Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc - 146 kms

Saturday July 23: Mègeve to Morzine-Avoriaz - 146.5 kms

Sunday July 24: Chantilly (new) to Paris Champs-Elysees.

Was this page helpful?