A Guide to the Regions of Spain

map of spain regions
James Martin

Spain is made up of 17 autonomous regions as shown in the map above. They are further divided into 50 provinces.


Located in the south of Spain, Andalusia covers the entire coastline, including the areas of Costa del Sol, Costa de Almería, and Costa Tropical. The provinces in Andalusia are Cádiz, Córdoba, Granada, Malaga, Sevilla, Huelva, Jaén, Almeria. The main attractions in this region are the Moorish cities of Seville, Granada (home to the famous La Alhambra palace), and Córdoba. 


The northern Aragon region is near the French border and is home to the Aragonese Pyrenees mountains, where you'll find a number of ski resorts. The provinces of Aragorn are Zaragoza, Huesca, and Teruel.


Comprising just a single province of the same name, the region of Asturias is famous for its more than 200 miles of lush green coastline, known as the Costa Verde. The capital city of the region is Oviedo.

Balearic Islands

Another single-province region, the Balearic Islands comprise Majorca, Menorca, Ibiza, and Formentera. The islands are well known for their nightlife and glamour, outside the party hubs it's a different story with traditional villages and a slow, leisurely life.

Pais Vasco (Basque Country)

This autonomous community has a culture all its own, including a unique language. The northern region has three provinces: Vizcaya, Álava, and Guipúzcua. The major city in the area is Bilbao, an architecture and design hub famous for its outpost of the Guggenheim Museum.

Canary Islands

Located off the northwest coast of Africa, the Canary Islands offer the year-round sunshine that attracts over 12 million visitors annually. It comprises the provinces of Las Palmas and Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Top tourist destinations include Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, and Fuerteventura.


The small northern region of Cantabria, which is its own province, is located on the Bay of Biscay. It's famous for its prehistoric caves and sites, including the famous Altamira cave and other prehistoric sites.

Castilla-La Mancha

Castilla-La Mancha is an arid and sparsely populated land which you know might know from Don Quixote. It lies between Madrid and Andalucia. The ancient city of Toledo is the most popular tourist destination, and there are fine cheeses to discover throughout the region as well. Its provinces are Guadalajara, Toledo, Cuenca, Ciudad Real, and Albacete.

Castilla y Leon

Castilla y Leon is the largest of Spain’s autonomous communities. It borders ten other Spanish regions as well as Portugal. The Roman city of Segovia and the university city of Salamanca are two of the region's tourist highlights. The provinces here are Léon, Palencia, Burgos, Zamora, Valladolid, Segovia, Soria, Salamanca, and Avila.


Catalonia in the northeast of Spain is home to popular cities of Barcelona, Tarragona, and Girona. The region also has the Costa Brava, which offers many breathtaking views. Catalonia's provinces are Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona.


Extremadura is an underrated gem of Spain; The Roman city of Merida is one of the region’s highlights along with the Moorish city of Caceres. A number of travelers visit on their way to Portugal, which shares a border with the region. There are two provinces here: Caceres and Badajoz.


Santiago de Compostela is the highlight of the region for most visitors, but this Celtic region of Spain is known for great seafood and wild and untamed landscapes from mountains to beaches. Its provinces are A Coruña, Pontevedra, Lugo, and Orense.


The name Madrid applies to not only the capital of Spain, but also one of the nation’s autonomous regions that houses it. Outside the city, you'll find the beautiful countryside and the scenic Guadarrama mountains. It's a single-province region.


The southwestern region of Murcia, which is its own province, is famous for its Costa Calida coast. Inland, the Parque Natural de Sierra Espuña offers the active crowd lots of trekking experiences.


In the northern region of Navarre, the city of Pamplona is the most well-known destination. But you can also head to the Navarran Pyrenees for trekking and wildlife experiences. The region, which comprises just one province of the same name, is also famous for its wine.

La Rioja

You're probably familiar with the region of La Rioja because of its wines—there are more than 500 wineries in the small single-province area.


While some travelers visit the coastal city of Valencia in this region, many more head to the popular holiday resorts of the Costa Blanca to the south. The provinces are Valencia, Castellon, and Alicante.

Was this page helpful?