Reno / Lake Tahoe Area Marriage Licenses

How to Get a Marriage License for Reno and Lake Tahoe Weddings

Marriage licenses, Washoe County Clerk, Reno, Nevada
••• Marriage licenses in Reno from the Washoe County Clerk. Photo © Stan White

Reno area marriage licenses are easily obtained and most wedding chapels will help you with the paperwork so your wedding day is happy rather than a hassle. Marriage licenses issued by any county in Nevada are valid throughout the state. Nevada now issues marriage licenses to same-sex couples.

Getting a Marriage License in Washoe County, Nevada

The Marriage License Bureau, Washoe County Clerk's Office, serves Reno, Sparks, Incline Village, and the northeast corner of Lake Tahoe.

Marriage License Bureau Reno Office:
Washoe County Complex, 1001 E. 9th Street, Building A, Reno, NV 89512. (775) 784-7287.

Hours:
8 a.m. to 12 midnight, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.

License fee is $60. Application is good for one year. Both parties must be present to receive a license. The Marriage License Bureau accepts payment in credit cards as well as cash, money orders, and travelers’ checks.

If you have questions about getting married in Washoe County, refer to the clerk's office FAQ web page.

Incline Village Office:
Incline Village General Improvement District, 893 Southwood Boulevard, Incline Village, NV 89451. (775) 784-7287.

Hours:
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The license fee is $60. Payment is only accepted by credit card.

More information from the Washoe County Marriage License Bureau

Washoe County Marriage Application Online - You can complete most of a marriage license application online. After completing the online form, applicants will be given a file number to bring with them to the Marriage License Bureau to complete the transaction.

Both parties must appear at the office to complete the application.

Domestic Partnership in Nevada

Nevada now issues licenses for same sex marriages. At the same time, the "Nevada Domestic Partnership Act" lets any couple, regardless of gender or sexual orientation, register as domestic partners. Nevada couples who register as domestic partners are now recognized as a unit and extended rights similar to those held by married couples.

Getting a Marriage License in Carson City, Nevada

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Carson City Marriage Bureau, which includes Carson City. This area has a city / county government system.

Carson City Courthouse:
885 E. Musser Street, Suite 1025, Carson City, NV, 89701. (775) 887-2084.
24-hour marriage information hotline: (775) 887-2085.

Hours:
Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday - 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. and various hours on certain holidays
Closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and various other holidays.

The fee is $75, payable by cash or credit card. There is a $1.50 transaction fee with credit cards. The fee can be submitted online if you choose to do so. Both parties must be present to obtain a license. You can download a copy of the marriage license application and fill it out before coming to the office.

For more information, refer to Common Questions about getting married in Carson City.

Getting a Marriage License in Douglas County, Nevada

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Douglas County Clerk Marriage Licenses, which includes Stateline (South Lake Tahoe), Zephyr Cove, Genoa, Minden, Gardnerville, and the southeast side of Lake Tahoe.

South Lake Tahoe Office:
175 Highway 50, 2nd Floor, South Lake Tahoe, NV 89449. (775) 586-7270. 24-hour Phone Info-Line: (775) 586-7290.

Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Closed Sundays and on all holidays.

Minden Office:
1616 8th Street, 2nd Floor, Minden, NV 89423. (775) 782-9014. 24-hour Phone Info-Line: (775) 782-9015.

Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Closed weekends and on all holidays.

The marriage license fee is $60.

The fee does not include a certified copy of the marriage certificate, which is available for an additional $15.00. Fee is payable by cash, cashiers check, money order, Visa, or MasterCard - no personal checks. Applications are good for one year. Both parties must be present to receive a license.

If you have questions about getting married in Douglas County, refer to the clerk's office FAQ web page.

Getting a Marriage License in El Dorado County, California

El Dorado County Marriage License Issuance includes the city of South Lake Tahoe and the southwest corner of Lake Tahoe.

South Lake Tahoe Office:
3368 Lake Tahoe Boulevard #108, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150. (530) 573-3407.

Hours:
8 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except legal holidays.
Copies are not issued after 4:30 p.m.

Fee is $61, payable by cash, money order, or debit card ($2.50 fee). Personal checks are not accepted. Both parties must be present to receive a license.

Marriage ceremonies at the clerk's office are by appointment. These are available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. and from 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. The fee for a civil marriage ceremony is $37. Those without an appointment may wait for an opening.

If you have questions about getting married in El Dorado County, check out the clerk's office marriage FAQs web page.

Getting a Marriage License in Placer County, California

Placer County Marriage Licenses. The northwest area of Lake Tahoe, including Alpine Meadows, Carnelian Bay, Homewood, Kings Beach, Olympic Valley, Tahoe City, and Tahoe Vista.

Placer County Clerk-Recorder Office:
2954 Richardson Drive, Auburn, CA 95603. (530) 886-5610.

Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The fee is $57. Applicants must apply together and in person. You can download the marriage license application, then bring the completed form to the clerk's office.

Marriage licenses are also available at the Carnelian Bay office (north Lake Tahoe) by appointment only. Call (530) 886-5610 to schedule an appointment. The Carnelian Bay office is open from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m., Monday through Friday, closed on holidays.