In an area like Greater Phoenix that has experienced such phenomenal growth, real estate is a big business. That doesn't mean it is an easy business, or that anyone can be successful. Being a real estate agent requires knowledge, a disciplined business approach, people skills, and attention to detail. Is real estate the right career for you?
If you are interested in getting your real estate sales license, here's how you do it.
Keep in mind that Arizona is a non-reciprocal licensing state; your license from another state does not give you rights to act as a Realtor in Arizona.
Getting a real estate sales license in Arizona requires studying, of course, in order to understand the concepts and laws regarding buying and selling property and homes. In addition to the coursework, there are forms and fees—it's a process. It will probably take most people several months to successfully comply with the requirements. Arizona is a non-reciprocal state. That means that even if you are licensed in another state, you still must get an Arizona real Estate License to conduct that business here.
Can You Get a Real Estate License in Arizona?
- You must be at least 18 years of age when applying for a real estate license.
- You must be in the U.S. legally.
- You may not have had a real estate license denied within one year, or revoked within two years immediately before applying.
- If you had an Arizona real estate license that expired and was not renewed within one year of expiration, you may request certification of prior Arizona licensure.
- If you have never had a real estate license you must complete prelicensure education course(s) of at least 90 classroom hours at an Arizona-approved educational institution and pass a school examination on the course.
- After passing the course, an Arizona state examination is required. Examinations are given in various Arizona cities, by appointment only.
- If you were originally licensed in Arizona more than 10 years ago, you probably have to start all over as if you were a first time applicant.
- You must verify that you are honest, truthful, of good character and competent. Information and documentation relating to the applicant's background must be provided on an application.
- You must disclose any felony convictions and misdemeanor DUI convictions, any disciplinary actions against any professional license that you have held, and any judgments that have been entered against you.
- You will be required to disclose your date of birth and Social Security Number.
- You must apply for a license within one year of passing the state examination. If you don't, you will be required to take and pass the state and national examinations again before becoming eligible to apply for a license.
- There are fees required to take Arizona state exam. You can expect to pay between $400 and $500 for your license, including the fee for the course. Renewals start at about $75.
- Continuing education is important in this field, and is required in order to maintain your license. Every two years you must earn a certain number of credits in order to renew your license. Get the details about Continuing Education.
Many of the requirements to obtain a broker's license are the same as the salesperson's license. In order to get a broker's license you must have years actual full-time experience as a salesperson or broker during the immediate five years preceding application.