Time Zone and Daylight Saving Information for Oklahoma

Hotel Vinita.
Mark Williamson / Getty Images

The state of Oklahoma is in the Central Time Zone (CST), which is six hours behind Universal Time Coordinated (UTC). It is one hour behind the Eastern Time Zone (EST), that of New York City, and two hours ahead of the Pacific Time Zone (PST), that of Los Angeles. 

Tip:  Unless it's a local publication, you may find that television and sports times are often listed in Eastern Time Zone.  So if you're looking at ESPN, for example, to see a schedule of Thunder basketball or OU football games, subtract an hour to know what time they start here in Oklahoma City.

Are There Any Exceptions in Oklahoma?

Yes.  While it'll always be the same time in almost every city in Oklahoma, including the two large metros of Oklahoma City and Tulsa, there is actually one small, unincorporated town in the panhandle that follows Mountain Standard Time (MST).  It's called Kenton, just west of the state's highest point, Black Mesa, near the border with New Mexico.

What Are Other Areas in the Same Time Zone as Oklahoma?

The Central Time Zone also includes the majority of Texas and Kansas; the eastern portions of such states as Nebraska and the Dakotas; the entirety of many centrally located states such as Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama; and western portions of Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky and Indiana.

If you're traveling outside of the United States, you won't have to adjust your clock if you're going to central areas of Canada such as Winnipeg, much of Mexico, or Central American countries such as Belize and Costa Rica.  Also, note that some Caribbean Islands do not change the time for Daylight Saving, so during certain parts of the year (see below), the time in spots like Jamaica and the Cayman Islands will correspond to that of Oklahoma.

What About Daylight Saving Time?

Like most states, Oklahoma does, in fact, participate in the practice of Daylight Saving Time, moving clocks forward for the summer months and changing normal sunrise/sunset times in order to provide more sunlight in the later hours of the day.

Daylight Saving Time is in effect from 2 a.m. on the second Sunday in March to 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November. During Daylight Saving Time, Oklahoma is five hours behind Universal Time Coordinated (UTC). Daylight Saving Time is not observed in the U.S. by Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and Arizona (with the exception of the Navajo Nation in northeastern Arizona).