Mumbai Local Train Map

Mumbai train map
© Sharell Cook

The Mumbai local train rail network runs from one end of the city to the other, from north to south. It's divided into three lines -- Western, Central, and Harbour lines.

If you're planning on riding the Mumbai local train, print this handy Mumbai local train map out and take it with you (click here to enlarge it). It will make it easy for you to get around!

What to Know

  • The three lines of the Mumbai local rail network fall into two zones of Indian Railways. Western Railway is responsible for services on the Western Line, while Central Railway operates the services on the Central Line and the Harbour lines.
  • The numbers next to the stations on the map represent approximate distances, in kilometers, from the originating station.
  • The Western Line starts at Churchgate, in Mumbai's business district, and follows the city's west coast about 124 kilometers north to Dahanu Road (towards Ahmedabad). 
  • The Central and Harbour lines both commence at Chhatrapathi Shivaji Terminus (Victoria Terminus) just north of the Fort area in Mumbai.
  • The Central Line runs out towards the northeast of city, through Thane, and branches off when it reaches Kalyan. From there, it divides into two corridors, to Kasara (towards Nashik) and Khopoli (towards Pune).
  • The Harbour line branches off at Wadala Road, and from there runs to Andheri and Panvel (through Navi Mumbai).
  • The Western and Central lines converge at Dadar station, while the Harbour and Central lines interchange at Kurla. The Harbour Line also joins the Western Line at Mahim Junction.
  • Although the train lines fall into different zones, it's possible to change trains and travel on different lines without having to buy separate tickets for each one. Tickets are sold at the originating station on a point to point (destination to destination) basis. (There is also a new Mumbai Metro train line from Andheri to Ghatkopar. However, this requires a separate ticket).
  • The Western and Central lines have both Fast and Slow train services, while there are only Slow trains on the Harbour Line. Slow trains stop at all stations. The Fast trains will stop at major stations (indicated in red on the map), and some semi-fast ones will stop at additional stations.
  • Most trains start running from around 4 a.m., and the last departures from Churchgate and CST are at around 1 a.m. There are a few trains that depart later though. Western Railway trains tend to be more frequent and punctual.


Western Railway

  • The following coaches on Western Railway are reserved for people with disabilities, people with cancer, and people in an "advanced stage of pregnancy": 12 car trains - 4th and 7th coaches from Churchgate end; 15 car trains - 4th, 7th, and 10th coaches from Churchgate end
  • Between 10:00 am and 5:00 pm the 3rd and 12th coaches from Churchgate end are reserved for people age 60 and older
  • Stations have tactile paths on platforms and audio visual indicators in front of coaches reserved for people with disabilities