The Scandinavian Currencies

Swedish and Danish bills
••• Tony Webster/Flickr/CC BY 2.0

Swedish Krona

Sweden has not adopted the Euro (yet). Swedish kronor (currency code: SEK) have been the currency of Sweden since the 19th century. The plural is kronor and one krona is divided into 100 öre. The currency is sometimes informally referred to as the "Swedish crown" and is abbreviated "kr." Inflation rate: approx. 1.9%.

Norwegian Krone

Norway's currency is the Norwegian krone (abbreviation: "kr.") It is subdivided into 100 øre and the currency code for the money is NOK.

The name translates into English as "crown". The krone was introduced in 1875, replacing the Norwegian speciedaler. Norway has not adopted the Euro. Inflation rate: approx. 2.2%.

Danish Kroner

Denmark and Greenland (Denmark's autonomous province) use Danish kroner as their currency. 1 krone is divided into 100 øre. The official currency code is DKK; the domestic abbreviation is "kr.". Occasionally, the form DKR or Dkr is seen, but these currency codes are not official. Denmark has not adopted the Euro, either. Inflation rate: approx. 1.8 %.

Icelandic Krona

The króna is the currency of Iceland. The Icelandic name, meaning "crown", is related to the other Scandinavian currencies listed above. 1 krona is subdivided into 100 aurar (singular: 1 eyrir). ISK is the currency code for Icelandic krona. Inflation rate: approx. 6.8%.

To find out how much money you have in one of those Scandinavian currencies, try this quick calculator: Online Currency Converter.

And if you're out to save some money, see the ​best ways to save money in Scandinavia!