Five state laws placed restrictions on teenage drivers in Maryland in 2005. These driving laws in Maryland apply to all drivers under age 18, regardless of when they received their learner’s permit or provisional driver’s license. These new teen driving restrictions were designed in response to an increase in teen car crashes and are intended to give teens more experience driving with fewer distractions.
Maryland Laws for Drivers Under 18
• A new driver must hold a learner’s permit for at least 6 months before applying for a provisional license. (This is an increase from 4 months)
• A new driver must complete at least 60 hours of driving practice with someone at least age 21 who has held a driver’s license for 3 years or more. (This is an increase from a minimum of 40 hours)
• At least 10 of the practice driving hours must occur at night.
• Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from talking on cell phones while driving.
• For the first 5 months with a provisional license, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from driving other minors unless they are direct family members or accompanied by an adult.
Notifying the Parents
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration notifies the parents or guardians of a minor who receives a citation for any moving violation. Also a minor will be required to obtain a learner's permit before they get behind the wheel, even under the supervision of a driving instructor. The permit validation date will be extended and can be valid for up to two years after the date of issuance.
As of 2015, those looking to obtain a driver's license in Maryland no longer have to prove they can parallel park. The long-required maneuver was eliminated from the state's driving test course after Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration officials determined the skills required to perform it are sufficiently tested in another reverse turning maneuver.
See the official site for the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, for a more detailed look at the driving laws in Maryland.