Haunted Sites in Cleveland

  • 01 of 16

    Haunted Cleveland

    Extreme Weather moves over the small city
    ••• Douglas Sacha/Getty Images

    Cleveland's diverse cultural mix and long history have led to some eerie and haunted sites. Among them are cemeteries, Gothic homes, theaters, and even a lighthouse. Join us for a look at some of theĀ greater Cleveland's haunted sites.

    Continue to 2 of 16 below.
  • 02 of 16

    Grays Armory

    View of Cleveland Grays Armory, a National Register of Historic Places property at 1234 Bolivar Road in downtown Cleveland, Ohio, United States.
    ••• User:Nyttend/Wikimedia Commons/PD-self

    In the mid-19th century, all major US cities had their own volunteer militias with their own uniforms, flags, weapons, and bands. In Cleveland, this unit was called the "Cleveland Grays" after their gray uniforms. They were the first Cleveland group to leave to fight in the Civil War, and they fought bravely at Manassas and at Phillipi. Later, the "Cleveland Grays" rode with General Pershing in the Spanish-American War and with the 145th Infantry in 1916 in World War I.

    The group built a huge sandstone castle in 1893 as the "Grays" headquarters. This five-story fortress still stands in downtown Cleveland, near Erie Street Cemetery. It features a 10,000 square foot ballroom, a basement shooting range, a wood-paneled library, and walls and walls of military memorabilia.

    Visitors and staff at the Armory have claimed to hear footsteps when no one was present as well as seeing Civil War era apparitions. By all accounts, the ghosts seem friendly.

    Grays Armory was a...MORE social and community center as well as a military one. It was the site of the first Cleveland Orchestra concert as well as the first Metropolitan Opera performance in Cleveland. Today, Grays Armory is open only for private parties and special events, such as the annual book fair and classic auto show.

    Grays Armory
    1234 Bolivar Rd
    Cleveland, OH 44115

    Continue to 3 of 16 below.
  • 03 of 16

    Franklin Castle

    Hannes Tiedemann House, 4308 Franklin Boulevard Cleveland, Ohio
    ••• Cricchetti/Wikimedia Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

    Franklin Castle, located in Ohio City at 43rd and Franklin, is one of the most fascinating and most haunted houses in Cleveland. The four-story sandstone Gothic structure was built in the late 1880s by grocery and banking executive, Hannes Tiedemann. The house featured thirty rooms, including a ballroom that encompassed the entire third floor.

    The house's history is a sad and disturbing one. Not long after the Tiedemann family moved into the house, their daughter and Mrs. Tiedemann's mother died. To distract his wife, Tiedemann remodeled the house and it was rumored that several secret passages were added at that time. Before Mr. Tiedemann's death in 1908, all of his family, including his grandsons had died.

    The house subsequently belonged to a German brewer, the German Socialist Party (rumored to be Nazis and to have run surveillance of Lake Erie from the house), and several Cleveland families.

    Strange occurrences have plagued all of the residents. Voices, organ playing,...MORE shaking light fixtures, and apparitions have all been reported. In 1975, the owner at the time went searching for the secret passageways... and found more than he sought. He uncovered a human skeleton, deemed to be very old by the coroner.

    Today, Franklin Castle has a new owner who says he will be restoring the mansion to its original glory and using it as a residence. Watch this space.

    Continue to 4 of 16 below.
  • 04 of 16

    Squire's Castle

    NW side - Squire's Castle - North Chagrin Reservation - Cleveland Metroparks 2015
    ••• Tim Evanson/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0

    Squire's Castle, located in Willoughby Hills in the Cleveland Metroparks, was built in the 1890s by Feargus B. Squire, an executive with the Standard Oil Company. The British-born Squire intended to create a country estate, modeled after those in Britain. He began by building the gatehouse, complete with a living room, several bedrooms, and a hunting room with mounted animal heads. The Squires used the gatehouse as a weekend retreat while plans were being finalized for the main house.

    Mrs. Squire never liked the country. A city girl, she was scared of the quiet country nights and the sounds of animals. Urban legend says that she had so many nightmares that she was afraid to go to sleep and consequently went insane. According to the legend, she died one night when she became so frightened that she fell and broke her neck attempting to flee. The truth lies somewhere else. Mrs. Squire, although afraid of the country, did not die at the gatehouse, although she did die young, in 1929.

    Fear...MOREgus Squire never completed the estate after his wife's death, and the gatehouse was abandoned. Today, the structure is but a stone shell, owned by the Cleveland Metroparks. Periodic functions are held at the "castle." Park visitors can walk around the structure and imagine it adorned with Tiffany glass, carved moldings, and elaborate European furnishings. It's also a popular site for wedding photographs.

    There have been numerous reports of a woman in the upstairs window at night, sometimes with a lantern. Could it be Mrs. Squire?

    Continue to 5 of 16 below.
  • 05 of 16

    Lake View Cemetery

    "The Angel of Death Victorious", a funerary monument sculpted in 1923 by Herman Matzen for the Haserot family plot at Lake View Cemetery in Cleveland, Ohio, in the United States.
    ••• Tim Evanson/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0

    Cleveland's Lake View Cemetery, located just east of University Circle and Little Italy, was founded in 1869 by a group of prominent Cleveland businessmen, including Jeptha Wade, founder of the Western Union Telegraph Company and one of Cleveland early benefactors.

    The 285-acre cemetery is the final resting place for many of Cleveland's most famous figures, including John D. Rockefeller, Eliot Ness, former Mayor Carl Stokes, and President James A. Garfield. Lake View is noted for its diverse and elaborate architecture, including the Art Deco-style Wade Chapel with its original Tiffany window and the Neo-Gothic Garfield Monument, and its many stone angels.

    As with any cemetery with so many famous residents, rumors persist of hauntings. Tours of the gravestones and grounds are given regularly at Lake View, including several on and around Halloween.

    Continue to 6 of 16 below.
  • 06 of 16

    Ohio State Reformatory at Mansfield

    Ohio State Reformatory
    ••• Ian McKellar/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0

    All of the neighborhood mothers used to threaten their kids that if they weren't good, they'd get sent to Mansfield. (Nice bunch of mothers.) Thoughts of the dark, foreboding stone castle were enough to keep even the most unruly kid in check.

    The Ohio State Reformatory, at Mansfield, was designed in 1896 by Cleveland architect, Levi Scofield, who also designed the Soldiers and Sailors Monument in downtown Cleveland. The building architect was F.F. Schnitzer, whose name is etched in the cornerstone of the reformatory. The gothic, church-like stone structure was intended to inspire inmates to reform. Unfortunately, it most likely had the opposite effect. As early as the 1930s, the prison was cited for having inhumane living conditions. Notorious is the prison's "Hole," a series of one-man cells with no facilities, no light, and little air. The facility closed in 1990.

    Several inmates and guards were killed during their time at Mansfield and numerous sightings have been...MORE reported. Almost everyone leaves the property with a deep feeling of sadness. By all accounts, Mansfield was never a happy place.

    The Ohio State Reformatory has been featured in numerous films and TV productions, including the movies Air Force One and The Shawshank Redemption.

    Continue to 7 of 16 below.
  • 07 of 16

    Rider's Inn Painesville

    Rider Inn Painesville Ohio
    ••• Courtesy Rider Inn

    Rider's Inn in Painesville opened in 1812 as a hospitality stop along the rough stagecoach road between Buffalo and Cleveland. The inn, named for its founder and his wife, Joe and Suzanne Rider, was also a major stop along the underground railroad and a refuge for Union soldiers returning home after the Civil War.

    The gracious Inn is still in operation and offers guest delightful, individually decorated suites as well as a charming dining room.

    The wife of the first owner, Suzanne Rider, is said to (pleasantly) haunt the inn. In life, her job was to greet guests and she has been seen around the former front door as well as the upper floors. Rider's Inn offers a Halloween dinner and tours of the inn.

    Rider's Inn
    792 Mentor Ave.
    Painesville, OH 44077
    440 354-8200

    Continue to 8 of 16 below.
  • 08 of 16

    Erie Street Cemetery

    Cemetery stone entrance, Erie Street, Cleveland, OH
    ••• Barry Winiker/Getty Images

    Erie Street Cemetery, founded in 1826, is Cleveland's second oldest cemetery. The 8.9-acre cemetery contains the remains of over 17,000 Clevelanders, including four Cleveland mayors and some of the city's earliest settlers, such as Lorenzo Carter and his family. Located on today's E. Ninth Street, within walking distance of Progressive Field, Erie Street Cemetery's most controversial residents are two Native Americans: Joc-O-Sot and Chief Thunderwater.

    Joc-O-Sot fought against the white settlers in the Black Hawk wars, was wounded, and joined a vaudeville show after his cause lost the war. Ten years later, he reportedly died from his wound in Cleveland on his way to his native Minnesota. He is said to haunt the cemetery and nearby Jacob's Field. Chief Thunderwater, an Iroquois Chief is said to be the model for the controversial Cleveland Indians mascot, Chief Wahoo.

    Erie Street Cemetery is open to visitors during the day and intrepid history buffs can stroll amongst...MORE the 150+-year-old stones.

    Continue to 9 of 16 below.
  • 09 of 16

    Old Fairport Harbor Lighthouse

    Old Main Fairport Harbor Lighthouse
    ••• Rona Proudfoot/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0

    The Old Fairport Harbor Lighthouse sits at the mouth of the Grand River, east of Cleveland. The lighthouse, built in 1825 and rebuilt in 1871, was a safe haven for sailors as well as refugees traveling along the Underground Railroad. The lighthouse was replaced by the current Fairport Harbor Lighthouse in 1925 and is now open as a maritime museum.

    The Old Fairport Harbor Lighthouse is believed to be haunted by a gray cat, one of many owned by a former lighthouse caretaker. The myth was given more credence when, in 2001, the remains of a cat were discovered in a sealed staircase. The remains are now on display in the museum, but the playful cat's presence can be felt all over the property.

    Continue to 10 of 16 below.
  • 10 of 16

    Akron Civic Theater

    Akron Civic Theatre, house view from balcony. This image show the stars and projected clouds. Photography by Nat Napoletano, May 2013
    ••• NatNapoletano/Wikimedia Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

    The Akron Civic Theater opened in 1929 as the Loewe's Theater, one of a number of jewels in the theater magnet's empire. The Moorish-style theater, designed by John Eberson, featured elaborate wood carvings, alabaster statuary, and European antiques. The theater was remodeled in 2001 and reopened as the Akron Civic Theater, part of the same group that includes Lock 3 amphitheater and E.J. Thomas Hall.

    The theater is said to have at least two ghosts. Fred the Janitor, a theater worker in the 1930s, died in the theater and is said to haunt the building, particularly the bathrooms where he worked. The other ghost is a young woman, said to date from before the theater was built. She is thought to be from a mid-19th-century canal barge family, as the Ohio-Erie Canal originally ran through the theater site.

    Continue to 11 of 16 below.
  • 11 of 16

    The Unionville Tavern

    Unionville Tavern
    ••• LeeG7144/Wikimedia Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

    The Unionville Tavern, located in the Lake/Ashtabula County community of Unionville between Madison and Geneva, was built as a log cabin in 1798 and converted to a two-story inn and tavern between 1815 and 1820. The white frame building was a stagecoach stop along the old Indian trail and hosted many a Civil War era party in the second-floor ballroom.

    The Tavern also served as a station on the Underground Railroad and slaves would enter the tavern for shelter and a meal from the tunnels that connect the inn to the cemetery across the street. At night, the slaves would be taken to Madison docks for the trip across Lake Erie to freedom in Canada.

    The Unionville Tavern operated as a bar and restaurant for years and is fondly remembered by area residents. The site closed in 2003.

    The ghost of a former slave is reputed to haunt the Tavern.

    Continue to 12 of 16 below.
  • 12 of 16

    College Hall at Lake Erie College in Painesville

    Front of College Hall, the main administration building of Lake Erie College, in Painesville, Ohio, United States. Built in 1859, the building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
    ••• User:Dkocan/Wikimedia Commons/PD-user

    Another haunted site in Painesville is Lake Erie College. The fourth floor (now unused) of the school's College Hall is said to be haunted by an unfortunate female student from the late 19th century. The story goes that she became romantically involved with one of her professors and became pregnant. When the teacher refused to marry her, she jumped to her death from the bell tower atop College Hall.

    College Hall isn't the only building at Lake Erie College that is said to be haunted. Ghostly sightings have also been reported in Morley Music Hall, the Fine Arts Building, and Fowler's Dorm.

    Continue to 13 of 16 below.
  • 13 of 16

    Chestnut Grove Cemetery in Ashtabula

    ••• Harpers Weekly/Public Domain

    Ashtabula's Chestnut Grove Cemetery, located along the Ashtabula River near downtown, was originally an Indian burial site for members of the Erie tribe. Since 1819, the cemetery has accepted the remains of more than 18,000 souls, including 25 victims of the Ashtabula train disaster of 1876.

    For those unfamiliar with the train disaster: it occurred on a snowy night, December 29, 1876. The Pacific Express of the Lake Shore and Michigan Railway was making its way from Erie to Ashtabula when the bridge across the Ashtabula River failed and sent 11 rail cars tumbling 70 feet into the river, just 100 yards away from the Ashtabula station. It remains one of the worst train accidents in US history. Depending on the account, between 80 and 92 people perished from the fall, the cold and the fires that followed the crash. Sixty-four were injured. A distraught Charles Collins, the bridge's engineer died in January 1877. Many believe he killed himself.

    A 70-foot obelisk at Chestnut Grove...MORE honors the victims of the train disaster. Collins is buried nearby. Many people have reported seeing men and women in late 19th-century costume near the monument. Other reports cite a man in period costume kneeling nearby saying "I'm sorry."

    Chestnut Grove Cemetery is located at 79 Grove Drive in Ashtabula. The cemetery is open from dawn to dusk.

    Continue to 14 of 16 below.
  • 14 of 16

    Cleveland's Agora Theater

    Agora Theatre and Ballroom - Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    ••• Levdr1lp/Wikimedia Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

    Cleveland's Agora Theater, located at East 50th Street and Euclid Avenue, has hosted musical acts from Elvis to ZZ Top to Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. Built in 1910, the building was originally the lavish Metropolitan movie theater. In the 1940's, it became an auditorium for WHK radio. The Agora moved there in 1985.

    Most concertgoers just visit the lobby and the two concert halls: the 700-seat ballroom and the 2,000-seat main theater. However, the building includes a labyrinth of narrow hallways, storage rooms, and catwalks.

    There have been numerous reports of a male ghost since wearing a yellow raincoat, in the balconies, hallways, and catwalks. You can read more about these sightings here.

    Continue to 15 of 16 below.
  • 15 of 16

    Punderson Manor

    Punderson Manor State Park Lodge and Conference Center located in Newbury, Ohio as seen from across Punderson Lake.
    ••• Sam Howzit/Flickr/CC BY 2.0

    Punderson Manor, which now serves as the lodge for Punderson State Park near Newbury, Ohio, is named after the first European settler to the area, Lemuel Punderson. Punderson traveled to what was then the Connecticut Western Reserve with his wife in 1802. It is unclear why, but Punderson drowned himself in nearby Punderson Lake. He is one of the ghosts said to haunt the manor.

    The English Tudor manor house was begun in 1929 by Detroit area businessman, Karl Long. Long lost his fortune in the Great Depression and the property eventually reverted to the state for back taxes in 1948. It was opened to the public in 1956. The manor has since been added on to several times and is now open year-round.

    Ghostly sightings have been reported at the manor for more than 30 years by guests, park rangers, and caretakers. Some report hearing children laughing. Others have claimed to see an African-American girl that drowned in the lake in the mid-1970's. Still, others have reported seeing Mr....MORE Punderson.

    Continue to 16 of 16 below.
  • 16 of 16

    South Bass Island Lighthouse

    South Bass Island Light
    ••• Rene Sturgell/Wikimedia Commons/CC-BY-SA-3.0

    The South Bass Island Lighthouse, located on the southwestern edge of the island (the same island that is home to Put-in-Bay and thousands of summer revelers) was constructed in 1897. The red brick lighthouse is somewhat unusual in that the tour and the living quarters are connected.

    Tragedy struck the lighthouse shortly after the building was completed. A handyman, hired by the lighthouse keeper and staying in the lighthouse basement, supposedly committed suicide by jumping from a nearby cliff. Soon after, the lighthouse keeper was found wandering aimlessly, was ruled insane, and was committed for a year. His wife operated the lighthouse in his absence.

    The lighthouse operated until 1962 when it was retired and purchased by The Ohio State University, which used the structure as a research station and guest house. Since 2005, the first floor and the tower of the lighthouse have been open to the public on tours.

    The lighthouse basement, closed to the public, is where sounds and sightings...MORE have been reported.