The attic is full, closets are cramped and you can barely move around in your own living room. Maybe it's time to downsize, and perhaps make a little bit of coin in the process. Yes, put up the signs and spread out on to the driveway; it's time for a garage sale.
Of course, those planning to have a garage sale in Oklahoma City should know that there are very specific rules and regulations governing garage or yard sales within the city limits.
So before splashing your wares with price tags, begin with the understanding that anyone wishing to have a garage sale must have a permit to do so. Once you have one, though, your sale will be placed on the city's garage sale listings at no charge.
Garage sale permits are $7 and can be obtained by filing online On the application, you will need to provide name, address and sale information, including the types of items you intend to market. A credit card is required for payment when applying online.
Applications can also be made by calling (405) 297-2606 (you'll receive a permit number for posting at your sale) or in person at the Oklahoma City License Division at 420 West Main Street. Business hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Checks or money orders are accepted, and permit applications are available in Adobe PDF format online through the city's website.
Finally, you can receive your permit by mail if you request an application at least two weeks before your sale.
Mail it back with check or money order payment.
Garage sale permits in Oklahoma City are good for 3 consecutive days, but they must be used only for the address listed on the permit. Garage sales can only take place between the hours of 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.
- Each household is limited to only 2 garage sales per year.
- Garage sales no longer need to be spaced out. You can have two on consecutive weekends if desired.
- Garage sale signs are not allowed on utility poles, traffic sign poles, medians or any public right-of-way.
- Only one sign can be placed in front of your house and cannot be larger than 12 square feet.
- Any personal property can be sold except motor vehicles, new merchandise, consignment items or resale items.
Failure to comply with the Oklahoma City regulations governing garage sales is punishable by a maximum fine of $200 plus costs.
For further information regarding holding a garage sale in Oklahoma City and the permit applications, contact:
Oklahoma City License Division
420 W Main St., Suite 130
Oklahoma City, OK. 73102