Fireworks Laws in the Oklahoma City Metro Area

Fireworks Laws
••• David McNew / Getty Images

One of the more popular things to do in Oklahoma City for New Year's Eve and July 4th is to check out the fantastic fireworks displays all around the metro. It's important to remember that these shows are put on by trained professionals.

Purchasing and lighting personal fireworks can also be great fun if done in a legal and responsible way. After all, fireworks can be very dangerous and cause thousands of injuries each year.

Also, get a complete guide to Oklahoma City on July 4th, with information on events, fireworks, lakes, travel, recipes and more.

And here are the laws regarding fireworks in Oklahoma:

Oklahoma Fireworks Laws and Regulations

It is illegal to sell, possess or discharge fireworks within the majority of cities around the state. Specifically, the following metro areas do not allow lighting fireworks within their limits:

  • Bethany
  • Del City
  • Edmond
  • El Reno
  • Midwest City
  • Moore
  • Nichols Hills
  • Norman
  • Oklahoma City
  • The Village
  • Warr Acres
  • Yukon

Here are some area cities that do allow fireworks:

  • Choctaw - from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. July 1-3 and 9 a.m. to 11:30 p.m. July 4
  • Okarche - from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. July 3-5
  • Mustang - from 3 to 10 p.m. June 27 - July 3 and 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. July 4

For information on those not listed or to inquire about possible permits for private displays, contact your local fire marshal.

Sales and Displays

  • As of 2010, fireworks can now be sold year-round in the state of Oklahoma, only by licensed distributors and manufacturers.  Previously, they could only be sold during specific holiday time periods from June 15 to July 6 and Dec. 15 to Jan. 2. Here are locations for where to buy fireworks in OKC.
  • Only fireworks approved by the U.S. Consumer Product Commission may be sold in Oklahoma.
  • Only persons age 12 or older or those accompanied by an adult may purchase fireworks.
  • Fireworks may not be sold door to door or by mail order.
  • Those wishing to put on a fireworks display must file a permit with the Oklahoma State Fire Marshal at least 10 days in advance and meet minimum insurance requirements. See the state fire marshal's website for more information.

    Lighting Rules

    • Fireworks may not be set off within 500 feet of any church, hospital, asylum, public school, unharvested agricultural crop or fireworks store.
    • Fireworks may not be set off from vehicles or near a group of people.

    Banned Fireworks

    The following fireworks are prohibited in Oklahoma:

    • Bottle rockets
    • Stick rockets
    • Cherry bombs
    • M-80's