Filing Your Florida Homestead Exemption

  • 01 of 07

    When Should You File for a Florida Homestead Exemption?

    Under Florida Law, every person is entitled to apply for a $25,000 homestead property tax exemption if they have legal or equitable title to real estate and maintains it as their permanent residence. Partial exemption may apply if the ownership of the applicant is less than 100%.

    You must have been a legal resident of the county in which you are filing and made that your permanent legal residence as of January 1st to qualify for a Florida Homestead exemption for the current year.  The initial application for property tax exemption must be made between January 1 and March 1 of the year for which the exemption is desired. You can pre-qualify for the upcoming year, anytime starting March 2 through December 31. Once you have successfully filed for your Florida Homestead Exemption, it will automatically renew each January as long as the title on the property has not changed.

    Applications can usually be made in person, through the mail or on-line, but to ensure that all information is...MORE correctly filled out and all required forms accounted for, it is best to apply in person at the county where the home is located.

    Continue to 2 of 7 below.
  • 02 of 07

    What is Needed to File for a Florida Homestead Exemption?

    Some counties have different requirements, so it is best to call ahead to verify what is needed and to bring as much documentation as you have available. Below is a list of what is generally required to file for a Florida Homestead Exemption.

    For proof of residency, you will need:

    • A copy of your Warranty Deed.
    • Property Tax Bill (if you have received one).
    For each person listed on the title you will need:
    • Your Social Security Number (Some counties will require a copy of your Social Security Card.)
    • A copy of your Florida Vehicle Registration (if you have one).
    • A Declaration of Domicile - the affidavit of residency obtained through the County Comptroller's Office.
    • A Florida Driver's License (if you drive). The address on your license must match your current address.
      • If you do not drive, you must have one of the following:
        A Florida Identification Card, with your current address.
        Your Voter's Registration (if you have one).
    If you are not a U.S. Citizen, bring your immigration...MORE number and date or your resident alien (green) card.

    Additional information that may be required:

    • Date each applicant became a permanent Florida resident.
    • Date of occupancy.
    • Date of birth of all applicants.
    • Any exemptions filed last year.
    • Address of last income tax return.
    • If property is titled in a trust, copy of entire trust must be submitted or Certificate of Trust supplied by the Property Appraiser's Office.
    • If you are filing on a mobile home, proof of title or registration to mobile home and deed to property must be brought into office to obtain a "Real Property" application.
    Continue to 3 of 7 below.
  • 03 of 07

    Additional Exemptions Allowed on for Your Florida Homestead Property

    Everyone that meets the Homestead requirements is entitled to the first $25,000 exemption. An additional exemption of up to $25,000 applies to the assessed value on homes over $50,000.

    Senior Exemption:
    If at least one owner is 65 years old on January 1st for the current tax year. Total household income must be below current limits.

    $500 Widow's/Widower's Exemption:
    Any widow or widower who is a Florida resident and has not remarried or has divorced. A copy of the death certificate will be required.

    $500 Disability Exemption:
    A Florida resident who is totally and permanently disabled may qualify for this exemption. A physician certificate from a licensed, professionally unrelated Florida physician is required.

    $500 Exemption for Blind Persons:
    A Florida resident who is considered legally blind may qualify for this exemption. A certificate of blindness issued by the Division of Blind Services, the Veteran's Administration or two physician certificates from licensed, professionally...MORE unrelated Florida physicians are required.

    $5,000 Disability Exemption for Ex-service member:
    An ex-service member disabled at least 10% in war or by service-connected misfortune may be entitled to a $5000 exemption on any property owned by the ex-service member. A letter from the Veteran's Administration is required.

    Continue to 4 of 7 below.
  • 04 of 07

    Where to File for Your Homestead Exemption in Orange County

    Orange County:

    Online
    Orange County Property Appraiser
    200 S. Orange Avenue Suite 1700
    Orlando, Florida

    Phone: 407-836-5044
    Hours 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    Continue to 5 of 7 below.
  • 05 of 07

    Where to File for Your Homestead Exemption in Seminole County

    Seminole County:

    Seminole County Services Building
    1101 East First Street
    Sanford, Florida

    Phone: 407-665-7506
    Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    Continue to 6 of 7 below.
  • 06 of 07

    Where to File for Your Homestead Exemption in Osceola County

    Osceola County:

    Osceola County Government Center
    2505 East Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy
    Kissimmee, Florida

    Phone: 407-742-5000
    Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    St. Cloud Office
    1300 9th Street, Building B, Suite # 120
    St. Cloud, Florida

    Phone: 407-742-5192
    Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    Continue to 7 of 7 below.
  • 07 of 07

    Where to File for Your Homestead Exemption in Lake County

    Lake County:

    Online
    Main Office
    Historic Courthouse, 3rd Floor
    317 West Main Street
    Tavares, Florida

    Phone: 352-343-9748
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    Lady Lake Office
    912 Avenida Central
    Lady Lake, Florida

    Phone: 352-750-4545
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday

    South Lake Office
    Clermont Regional Shopping Center
    1060 E. Highway 50
    Clermont, Florida

    Phone: 352-394-5116
    Hours: 8:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. & 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday