Delhi Metro Map for Train Travel

Delhi Metro Train

TripSavvy / Lara Antal

The Metro is Delhi's ever-expanding local train network. It services Delhi, Gurgaon, Noida, Ghaziabad, Faridabad, Bahadurgarh, and Ballabhgarh. The first line opened in 2002, and there are now nine lines in operation. The Metro is being constructed in phases, with the final phase IV remaining and expected to be completed by 2024.

If you're planning on traveling by train in Delhi, access the map here to save it, or print it out and take it with you.

What to Know

  • The Red Line was the first line to become functional, in December 2002. It joins northeast and northwest Delhi, from Dilshad Garden to Rithala. The entire line is elevated, and has 21 stations over 24 kilometers. It interchanges with the Yellow Line at Kashmere Gate and the Green Line at Inderlok.
  • The Yellow Line started operating in December 2004. It extends for 49 kilometers from north to south Delhi, and connects with the Rapid Metro in Gurgaon. Most of it is underground. This line is the second longest line on the Delhi Metro and has 37 stations. It interchanges with the Red, Blue and Violet lines, and also Old Delhi and New Delhi railway stations. The line connects with the Airport Express Line at New Delhi station as well. If you're interested in sightseeing, the useful Yellow Line covers many of the city's top attractions.
  • The Blue Line opened in December 2005 and is the longest line of the Delhi Metro. It extends for 50.5 kilometers, from Dwarka Sector 21 to Noida City Center (Sector 32), and has 44 stations. It connects with the Airport Express Line, and interchanges with the Green, Yellow, and Violet lines. It also has a branch line, from Vaishali to Yamuna Bank, with eight stations.
  • The Green Line is the shortest Metro line but it provides important connection to the Red and Blue lines for commuters traveling from west Delhi. It covers major commercial and residential areas including Punjabi Bagh, Paschim Vihar, Nangloi and Mundka. The first part of the line became operational in April 2010.
  • The Violet Line started functioning in October 2010. It's a useful line that connects central Delhi to the interior parts of south Delhi and the satellite town of Faridabad. The line runs for 35 kilometers and interchanges with the Blue Line at Mandi House, and the Yellow Line at Central Secretariat. An extension of the Violet Line, known as the Heritage Line, opened in May 2017. It provides direct access to Delhi Gate, Jama Masjid and the Red Fort in Old Delhi, and also join the Red and Yellow lines at Kashmere Gate.
  • The Airport Express Line (Orange Line) opened in February 2011. It connects New Delhi Railway Station to Delhi Airport. It terminates at Dwarka Sector 21, where it joins the Blue Line.
  • The Magenta Line from Janakpuri West to Botanical Garden includes a stop at New Delhi Airport Domestic Terminal 1. It also has interchanges with the Yellow Line at Hauz Khas, Blue Line at Janakpuri West and Botanical Garden, and Violet Line at Kalkaji Mandir.
  • The Pink Line is also called the Inner Ring Road Line, as the entire line runs alongside Delhi's busy Ring Road. It started operating in March 2018 and extends from Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar. It's the longest Metro line.
  • The Gray Line opened in October 2019, and connects Najafgarh and Dwarka.
  • The fully-elevated Rapid Metro Line connects Gurgaon with the Yellow Line of the Delhi Metro at Sikandarpur. Its first phase opened in November 2013. Trains run every four minutes from 6.05 a.m. until 10 p.m. Tickets cost from 20 rupees, and the ticketing system is integrated with that of the Delhi Metro.
Was this page helpful?