Picturesque Cochem is a stop for most visitors traveling along the Mosel. Even if they had no plans to visit the landmark town, the draw of Reichsburg Cochem lures in thousands of people each year.
Of course you should visit the castle and details to plan your visit are provided here, but also explore the lovely old town center, riverfront and local ruins.
01 of 04
The largest hill-castle on the Mosel, Reichsburg Cochem dominates the town's skyline. Even though its imposing spires can be seen from every angle, actually reaching the castle is a bit harder. While visitors can hike to the top, a shuttle bus (from April to November) offers a much easier journey. In the off-season, taxis frequently offer a short run to the site. It is not recommended to drive up to the site as medieval one-way streets and frequent traffic result in some uncomfortable backing up situations.
Reichsburg Cochem has a long history of defense, being overtaken and rebuilt. Built sometime in the early 1000s, it was first destroyed in 1688 by French King, Louis XIV's, troops during the Nine Years' War (or Pfälzischer Erbfolgekrieg). It was rebuilt in 1868 by a wealthy Berliner, Louis Fréderic Jacques Ravené, for the paltry sum of 300 Goldmark. Since that time, it has passed through several hands before being purchased by the town of Cochem in 1978.
Today's... visitors see the fortress reconstructed and restored as it may have looked when it was built. Full of grand dining rooms, Neo-Gothic halls, and secret passages decorated with suits of armor and renaissance and baroque furniture, it once housed as many as 40,000 knights.
Guided tours (German) offer a comprehensive look at the history of the castle with a translation sheet available in 12 languages. For visitors interested in a more immersive experience, the Knight’s Meal offers an authentic medieval feast.
If you prefer picturesque vistas with the castle versus from it, cross over the Mosel to the village of Cond.
02 of 04
The other Cochem product (besides the regional specialty of riesling) all visitors should take home is mustard. Visit the 200-year-old mustard mill at Wolfgang Steffens. Discover how this special gourmet mustard is created following self-created recipes that have been handed down through the generations. Guided tours (with tastings!) are available and a shop to take some of this delicious mustard home.
- Address: Stadionstrasse 1, D- 56812 Cochem/Mosel
- Phone: 49 (0) 2671 607 665
- E-mail: email@example.com
- Shop Hours: 10:00 until 18:00 - Monday to Sunday
03 of 04
Winneburg Castle Ruin
Located on the neighboring valley of Enderttal, the ruins of this 13th century castle are a testament to the many wars fought along the Mosel. Destroyed during the Nine Years' War in 1689, visitors still frequent the site to examine the cost of battle.
How to Reach the Site: One hour hike up from Cochem's town center
04 of 04
An impressive lookout point with unparalleled view of Reichsburg Cochem, the easiest way to reach the summit is by chairlift. An enormous cross memorializes the sheperd who lost his life trying to save one of his herd. Take a camera to capture the magic.
How to Reach the Site: Take the chairlift, or go for a hike. Behind Cochem's train station is a footpath to the Pinnerberg.