Central America Money

Money and Currency in Central America

Central America Money: Because seven countries of Central America use six different currencies (El Salvador and Panama both use the American dollar), dealing with Central America money can be confusing. Below, you'll find links to information about each kind of Central America currency, including exchange rates and a bit of history.

Visit our Central America Money Photo Gallery for more pictures of Central America money.

  • 01 of 07

    Belize Money

    The Belize Dollar
    One unit of Belize currency is called the Belize dollar.
  • 02 of 07
    The Nicaragua Cordoba
    One unit of Nicaraguan currency is called the córdoba.
  • 03 of 07
    The official unit of currency in Panama is the Panama balboa. However, the official paper currency of Panama is the US dollar.
  • 04 of 07
    The Guatemala Quetzal
    One unit of Guatemalan currency is called the quetzal.
    Continue to 5 of 7 below.
  • 05 of 07
    The Honduras Lempira
    One unit of Honduran currency is called the lempira.
  • 06 of 07
    The El Salvador Colón
    One unit of El Salvadoran currency used to be called the colón, divided into 100 centavos. However, in 2001, El Salvador adopted the US dollar as its official unit of currency.
  • 07 of 07

    Costa Rica Money

    The Costa Rica Colón
    One unit of Costa Rican currency is called the colón (colónes plural).