Canada Provinces

Learn about Canada Provinces and Territories.

Before You Go To Canada | Language in Canada | When To Go to Canada

Canada provinces number 10, with three territories to the north.  The provinces are, in alphabetical order: AlbertaBritish ColumbiaManitobaNew Brunswick,Newfoundland and LabradorNova ScotiaOntarioPrince Edward IslandQuebec, and Saskatchewan. The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

The difference between a province and a territory has to do with their governance. Basically the territories have delegated powers under the authority of the Parliament of Canada; they are grouped together and ruled by the federal government. The provinces, on the other hand, exercise constitutional powers in their own right. This imbalance of power is gradually being rectified, with local decision-making powers being granted to the territories. 

Each province and territory has its own unique draw for visitors and own tourism organization to facilitate your trip. All have outdoor adventure, by way of...MORE camping, hiking trails, lakes and other natural phenomena. As you move from province 

The following is a list of the 10 provinces in Canada, from west to east, followed by the territories.

  • 01 of 13

    British Columbia

    British Columbia is the country's most western province. Bordered by the Pacific Ocean, B.C. as it is more commonly known, has some of the most temperate locations in the country, coastal islands and a mountainous interior. B.C.'s diverse geography draws adventure seekers, including skiers, kayakers and mountain bikers from around the world. 

    Major Cities & Towns: Victoria (provincial capital), Vancouver, Whistler, Kelowna
    Best Known For: Okanagan wine region, skiing, fishing, whale watching, golf and other outdoor adventures
    Map of British Columbia
    BC Tourism Website

  • 02 of 13


    Alberta is one of Canada's three prairie provinces. It shares the Canadian Rocky Mountain range with its western B.C. neighbour and is therefore famous as a ski and hiking destination. Alberta is the primary supply and service hub for Canada's crude oil industry, Athabasca oil sands and other northern resource industries. 

    Alberta is famous for hosting the Calgary Stampede, which showcases the province's distinct cowboy culture. 

    Major Cities: Edmonton (provincial capital), Calgary, Banff, Jasper
    Best Known For: Calgary Stampede, Edmonton Folk Festival, Edmonton Mall, Rocky Mountains, Head Smashed-In Buffalo Jump
    Map of Alberta

  • 03 of 13


    Saskatchewan is the middle prairie province, landlocked between the other two, Alberta and Manitoba. The majority of Saskatchewan's population live in the southern half of the province, especially in Saskatoon and Regina. The provinces major industry is agriculture, followed by mining and oil and natural gas production. 

    Major Cities: Regina (provincial capital), Saskatoon, Prince Albert
    Best Known For: Fishing, hunting and other outdoor adventure
    Map of Saskatchewan
    Saskatchewan Tourism Website

  • 04 of 13


    Manitoba is the most easterly prairie province and longitudinal centre of Canada. Like Saskatchewan, a majority of the population lives in the southern region. Manitoba's north comprises Canadian Shield rock and arctic tundra and is largely uninhabited. For more than 6,000 years, the province has been home to Aboriginal and Métis people, who continue to exert a great cultural influence.

    Major Cities: Winnipeg (provincial capital), Churchill
    Best Known For: Polar Bear Capital of the World, Le Festival du Voyageur, Folklorama
    Map of Manitoba
    Travel Manitoba Website

    Continue to 5 of 13 below.
  • 05 of 13

    Ontario is Canada's most populous province by a long shot comprising 40% of the country's total population.  It is also home to the federal capital of Ottawa and the unofficial financial capital of Toronto. The majority of Ontario residents live in the southern part of the province near Toronto.

    Major Cities: Toronto (provincial capital), Ottawa (federal capital), Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake
    Best Known For: Algonquin Park, CN Tower, Niagara wine region, Bruce Trail, woods and lakes
    Map of Ontario
    Ontario Tourism website

  • 06 of 13


    Quebec is the second most populous Canadian province and known primarily for its French speaking population, culture and heritage. 

    Quebec is the country's largest province by land area. Most residents live along and near the St. Lawrence River, especially in and between Montreal and Quebec City. 

    Major Cities: Quebec City (provincial capital), Montreal
    Best Known For: French Culture / Language, Old Montreal, Plains of Abraham, skiing
    Map of Quebec
    Quebec Tourism Website

  • 07 of 13

    New Brunswick

    New Brunswick is one of Canada's three Maritime provinces, which form a tiny water bound cluster on the east coast, just below Quebec and bordering Maine, U.S.A. 

    Major Cities: Fredericton (provincial capital), Moncton, St. John

    Best Known For: Bay of Fundy, Appalachian Range, coastline, lighthouses
    Map of New Brunswick
    New Brunswick Tourism Website

  • 08 of 13

    Nova Scotia

    Major Cities: Halifax (provincial capital), Sydney, Wolfville, Peggy's Cove
    Best Known For: Cabot Trail and other scenic drives, Celtic culture, Fortress of Louisbourg, fresh lobster dinners, coastline, Annapolis Valley
    Map of Nova Scotia
    Nova Scotia Tourism Website

    Continue to 9 of 13 below.
  • 09 of 13

    Prince Edward Island

    Major Cities: Charlottetown (provincial capital)
    Best Known For: Anne of Green Gables
    Map of Prince_Edward_Island
    Tourism PEI Website

  • 10 of 13

    Major Cities: St. John's (provincial capital)
    Best Known For: Gros Morne National Park, the friendliness of the people, icebergs, whale watching
    Map of Newfoundland and Labrador
    Newfoundland & Labrador Fast Facts
    Newfoundland & Labrador Website

    Continue to Canada's Territories >

  • 11 of 13


    Major Cities: Whitehorse (capital)
    Best Known For: Northern lights, dog sledding, historic Klondike Gold Rush locations, Kluane National Park, midnight sun
    Map of the Yukon
    Travel Yukon Website

  • 12 of 13

    Northwest Territories

    Major Cities: Yellowknife (capital)
    Best Known For: Northern lights, midnight sun, Nahanni River, outdoor adventure
    Map of Northwest Territories
    Travel NWT Website

    Continue to 13 of 13 below.
  • 13 of 13


    Major Cities: Iqaluit (capital)
    Best Known For: Canada's youngest territory or province
    Map of Nunavut
    Nunavut Tourism Website