State Abbreviations of Brazil

Woman holding Brazilian flag on Copacabana Beach, Rio, Brazil
Peter Muller / Getty Images

The largest country in all of South and Latin American, Brazil has just 26 states (compared to the 50, for example in the United States), and a Federal District. The capital, Brasília, is located within the Federal District ​and has the country's 4th largest population (São Paulo has the highest population).

The language most frequently used in Brazil is Portuguese. It is the largest country in the world to have Portuguese as its official language, and the only one in all North and South America.

The Portuguese language and influence came by way the inhabitation of Portuguese explorers, including Pedro Álvares Cabral, who claimed the area for the Portuguese Empire. Brazil remained a Portuguese colony until 1808, and they became an independent nation in 1822. Despite over a century of independence, the language and culture of Portugal still remain today.

Below is a list of the abbreviations for all 29 states in Brazil, in alphabetical order, as well as the Federal District:


Acre - AC

Alagoas - AL

Amapá - AP

Amazonas - AM

Bahia - BA

Ceará - CE

Goiás - GO

Espírito Santo - ES

Maranhão - MA

Mato Grosso - MT

Mato Grosso do Sul - MS

Minas Gerais - MG

Pará - PA

Paraíba - PB

Paraná - PR

Pernambuco - PE

Piauí - PI

Rio de Janeiro - RJ

Rio Grande do Norte - RN

Rio Grande do Sul - RS

Rondônia - RO

Roraima -RR

São Paulo - SP

Santa Catarina - SC

Sergipe - SE

Tocantins - TO

Federal District

Distrito Federal - DF

Was this page helpful?