The Arizona Rattlers Play Arena Football in Phoenix

Arena Football is Popular in the Valley of the Sun

Christian Petersen / Getty Images

These are the games that the Arizona Rattlers will play during the 2017 arena football season. Times noted are Arizona local time. Games shown in bold letters are home games at the Talking Stick Resort Arena Center (formerly known as US Airways Center) in Downtown Phoenix. All times and dates are subject to change without notice.

In 2017 the Arizona rattlers join the IFL (Indoor Football League) after 24 seasons in the AFL.

Other teams in the IFL are: Cedar Rapids Titans, Green Bay Blizzard, Iowa Barnstormers, Sioux Falls Storm, Wichita Falls Nighthawks, Colorado Crush, Nebraska Danger, Salt Lake Screaming Eagles, and Spokane Empire. The season for the IFL teams starts a earlier and ends earlier than the AFL teams.

Arena football games are played indoors, are fast-paced and are high-scoring. The field is smaller than in NFL football, and there is usually no difficulty in obtaining tickets for the games. Join the team mascot, Stryker, in supporting the team!

Arizona Rattlers 2017 Arena Football Schedule

Items in bold are home games for the Arizona Rattlers. All times mentioned are Arizona local time and are subject to change without notice.

Friday, February 17 vs. Sioux Falls Storm at 6 p.m.
Sunday, February 26 vs. Iowa Barnstormers at 3 p.m.

Saturday, March 11 vs. Colorado Crush at 6 p.m.

Sunday, March 26 vs. Green Bay Blizzard at 1 p.m.

Saturday, April 1 vs. Wichita Falls Nighthawks at 6 p.m.
Friday, April 7 vs. Nebraska Danger at 5 p.m.
​Friday, April 14 vs. Salt Lake Screaming Eagles at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 22 vs. Spokane Empire at 6 p.m.
Saturday, April 29 vs. Green Bay Blizzard at 6 p.m.

Friday, May 5 vs. Cedar Rapids Titans at 5 p.m.

Friday, May 12 vs. Spokane Empire at 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 20 vs. Salt Lake Screaming Eagles at 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 28 vs. Nebraska Danger at 3 p.m.

Saturday, June 3 vs. Spokane Empire at 7 p.m.
Sunday, June 11 vs. Cedar Rapids Titans at 3 p.m.
Friday, June 16 vs. Colorado Crush at 5 p.m.

How to Buy Arizona Rattlers Tickets

  1. In person at the Talking Stick Resort Arena Center Box Office, 201 W. Jefferson, Phoenix
  2. Online at
  3. Through Ticketmaster by phone, or in person at Ticketmaster outlets.
  4. From scalpers/ticket exchanges. Note: beware of fake tickets!

See a seating chart for the Talking Stick Resort Arena

How to Get to the Games

All home games take place in Downtown Phoenix, AZ. Here is a map with directions to Talking Stick Resort Arena, including instructions to get to the game using Valley Metro Rail.

Arizona Rattlers Facts, History and Team Trivia

The Arizona Rattlers is an Arena Football team. They announced their move from the AFL (Arena Football League) to the IFL, Indoor Football League for the 2017 season. Here is some history and trivia about the team:

  • The Rattlers played their first regular game in the Spring of 1992. Danny White, former Dallas Cowboys quarterback, and a favorite of Arizona fans since the years he played football for Arizona State University, has been the Head Coach since the team's inception.
  • On June 13, 1992 the Rattler won their first home game ever. This was also the first sporting event to be held at the America West Arena in downtown Phoenix.
  • The Arizona Rattlers were a hit. They sold out every game of their first season. They were the only arena football team to do so in the history of the AFL.
  • In 1993 the Arizona Rattlers played in their first playoffs.
  • In 1993 Danny White was named Coach of the Year, and Hunkie Cooper was awarded Most Valuable Player by the league.
  • In 1994 the Arizona Rattlers go all the way, winning the Arena Football Championship.
  • During the first five seasons that the team played, they filled 98% of the seats at the America West Arena.
  • In 1996 the Rattlers break another team record--they won nine games in a row.
  • In 1997 Danny White logs his 50th win as an arena football coach.
  • In 1998 the popular player Calvin Schexnayder broke three AFL records: most receptions (136), most yards (1,982), and most touchdowns (44, tied mark) in a single season.
  • In 2000 Hunkie Cooper sets a record with 17 touchdown returns.
  • In 2000 the Arizona Rattlers were undefeated on the road.
  • In 2001 Hunkie Cooper broke the 10,000 yard mark for career kickoff return yards.
  • In 2002 the Rattlers earn their third trip to the championship ArenaBowl, but they lost.
  • In 2003 the Arizona Rattlers set an arena football record by having two consecutive games where they scored more than 80 points.
  • In 2003 the Arizona Rattler try the ArenaBowl again, but once again, they are not the winners.
  • Could 2004 be the year? I guess not. The San Jose Sabercats handed the Rattlers their third ArenaBowl defeat.
  • In 2004 we marked the end of an era, when Danny White's contract was not renewed. Danny spent 13 years as Coach and General Manager of the Rattlers.
  • In 2005 the Rattlers retire Hunkie Cooper’s #14. That was the first Rattler's number to ever be retired.
  • Sherdrick Bonner became the fourth quarterback in AFL history to throw 700 touchdowns in 2006. In that same year, the Rattlers set a team franchise record for most points scored in a half with 47, and the largest margin of victory in a 75-28 win over Las Vegas.
  • Kevin Guy was named the Rattlers' Head Coach in the 2007 off-season. Guy previously spent two seasons with the San Jose Sabercats (2007 Arena Bowl champs).
  • After the 2008 season the Arizona Rattlers files for bankruptcy, as did the Arena Football League. Season ticket holders were offered a credit toward any future season.
  • There were no arena football games played in 2009. The Arena Football League suspended operations for 2009. The Arizona Rattlers at that time filed for bankruptcy. In 2010 a new arena football league was formed, and a new Arizona team, still called the Arizona Rattlers, joined that league.
  • Danny White was named Team President and Kevin Guy was named Head Coach.
  • In 2010 the Arizona rattlers Rod Windsor was named AFL Rookie of the Year and Danny White was named Assistant Coach of the Year.
  • The Arizona Rattlers had a record of 18 wins and 3 losses in 2011 and worked their way to the ArenaBowl XXIV Championship. They lost to the Jacksonville Sharks with a score of 73-70.
  • 2012 was a better result, with the Rattlers winning ArenaBowl XXV over the Philadelphia Soul. The last time they won the championship was in 1997.
  • Two in a row! The same matchup in the 2013 ArenaBowl and the same result. The Arizona rattlers beat the Philadelphia Soul and became the 2013 Champions!
  • Three-peat! The 2014 championship belongs to the Arizona Rattlers.
  • In 2015 the Arizona Rattlers lost to the San Jose Sabercats in the National Conference Playoffs, so the team did not go to the ArenaBowl. They finished the season with a 14-4-0 record.)
  • In 2016 it was announced that the team would move from the AFL to the IFL. The team will continue to play at the Talking Stick Resort Arena in downtown Phoenix, and General Manager and Head Coach Kevin Guy will continue to lead the team.
Was this page helpful?